New Leader selected at Breckland Council

Breckland Council has a new Leader following a vote by council members at its Annual General Meeting this morning (16 May). Breckland members selected Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen, who has previously worked for the Ministry of Defence, as the Leader of Breckland Council.

Cllr Chapman-Allen takes up the reigns from Cllr William Nunn, having acted as Deputy Leader during Mr Nunn’s tenure. Cllr Nunn will remain a serving member for Harling and Heathlands ward.

Speaking after his appointment, Cllr Chapman-Allen commented: “I’m delighted and very proud to take up the leadership of Breckland Council. William’s tenure has left the council in a strong position and I look forward to building on this foundation going forward.

“The council will continue to do what it does best and we will be honouring the priorities we’ve already set out for the coming four years. I will also be driving the council to engage closely with our communities and work with partners to find solutions to long-term challenges, such as helping people access new opportunities.”
Cllr Chapman-Allen is also ward member for Forest ward and has served on Breckland Council 2007-11 and latterly since 2015, having taken a break after the initial period as a district councillor to pursue other opportunities. Sam has also previously served on Thetford Town Council.

Prior to re-joining Breckland Council, Sam worked closely with Brandon Lewis MP, while Mr Lewis served as Minister of State for Housing and Planning at the Department for Communities and Local Government.

Outside of local government, Cllr Chapman-Allen worked for nine years with the Ministry of Defence and was the youngest officer in the country to take command of a squadron as part of the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training Branch).

Cllr Paul Claussen was selected as Deputy Leader.

Courtesy of Breckland Council– 16/05/2019

Norwich Web Design by Nine2 Web & SEO